Project 2 – A lesson in attention to detail !

When I received my course materials I read through the whole course and made some brief notes that outlined the exercises in section one, the idea being that I could quickly refer back to the notes before I go anywhere with my camera and try to incorporate some images for the exercises into whatever else I may be doing. Unfortunately when I made the notes for project 2 I missed one important word – “horizontal” – and have a few images that I am happy with but are framed vertically. I have decided to include them here anyway, along with the reasons I felt they worked but I will also carry on and take a new set of horizontally framed images.

Ever get the feeling you're being watched ?
In the above image I like the placement of the man in relation to the suspended exhibit, it looks as if the sculpture is watching the man.

In this second image I was again attracted by the relationship between the man and the art, in this case the visitor is dressed in similar colours and is positioned in a way that almost mimics the exhibit.
Statue

And lastly in this image the first thing that catches the eye is the figure painted on the walkway but the lines the lead the eye to the person walking down the slipway, although the person is very small in the frame he is an important part of the image.
Walk this way

So a bit of a false start really but it has been a useful exercise in observational skills as well as a warning to pay very careful attention to the requirements of the exercises !!

About Janet Broughton

Award winning lifestyle photographer working with horse owners, families and small business owners.
This entry was posted in Projects - Section 1. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Project 2 – A lesson in attention to detail !

  1. marmalade says:

    Good luck Janet. Nice to have some company.

  2. marmalade says:

    Hi Janet. Fortunately for you, my struggles are more a reflection of my approach than that of the course. I’m sure you’ll thoroughly enjoy and get a lot out of soc doc….

  3. fatherpie says:

    Good luck for the next ten days … look forward to seeing how you progress

Leave a comment